Fabulous Flash Award

Posted on July 26, 2010

7


I’m feeling so blessed. Most of last week I was without a computer. I couldn’t post stories here or keep up with my Twitter buddies or their blogs. And while I was disconnected, three wonderful, lovely and talented people gave me the Fabulous Flash Award. I come back and see all this love, and it makes me feel all warm and happy.

This award is a big deal to me. It was created only a couple of weeks ago by Jon Strother of Mad Utopia, the very father of Friday Flash. I’ve only been participating in Friday Flash for a few months, as most of you know, so for three whole people to pass this award to me is pretty amazing.

John Wiswell of The Bathroom Monologues was the first to bestow the award on me. He’s intelligent, imaginative, and witty. He writes sharp satire as well as great fantasy, humorous horror– well, you name it, and he writes it. And he posts on his blog most every day, rain or shine. Prolific is an understatement for Mr. Wiswell’s talent. Thanks for thinking of me, John. This award is a huge honor coming from you.

Next to pass the award to me is Cathy Olliffe of Life on the Muskoka River. This woman dives so deep into the hearts and minds of her characters that you can’t help but feel as if it’s you she’s writing about. And she doesn’t back away from what her characters go through. She’s sensitive, has a great sense of humor, and always taps into those universal human experiences. Hers is some of the best writing out there. Thank you, too, Cathy. I’m amazed and tickled and deeply honored that you thought of me for this award, too.

And finally, Sam Adamson of Future;Nostalgic picked me for the award. Talk about a sense of humor. Sam’s an affable, generous gentleman who likes kitty-cats as much as I do. And he’s a fine writer on top of that. His UFC Stories about the hijinks of pixies, fairies and such are a delight every week, not to be missed. But that’s not all. His lovely slice of life story, The Last Hurrah, shows his equally fine talent for writing about humans with warmth and depth. Thanks for thinking of me, Sam. You’ve given me a great big honor, too.

You three just rock the blogosphere. It’s a pleasure to know you.

So here are the rules for the Fabulous Flash Award:

  1. acknowledge receiving the award in a blog post
  2. link back to the person who awarded it
  3. select four other fabulous flashers to receive the award to keep spreading the joy
  4. write one or two short lines explaining why you’ve chosen each recipient
  5. optionally (I know not everyone is on Twitter) tweet, “I just gave the Fabulous Flash Award to (name). They’re worth reading.” Include a shortened URL back to your post in the tweet.

And now for the awarding, my favorite part. I’ve listed these talented people in no particular order.

Anthony Venutolo of Bukowski’s Basement. Ant does way more than flash fiction, including poetry, podcasts in his fine voice, tributes to artists and reviews of movies, books and music. But his fiction is amazing. His characters are real and his stories are true to life, often gritty and always uncompromising. The man can write a time period like no one else, making it a character in its own right. He puts you squarely in whatever era he’s writing about, right with the people he’s writing. He’s smooth.

Mari Juniper of Mari’s Randomities. Mari is the evil genius behind the recent Zombieluv contest, and now I hear there’s an anthology in the works featuring a number of those entries. But she’s not as evil (or dead) as she’d have us believe. She also has a gentle and lovely side with an eye for beauty and wonder, which all come through in her fiction. I particularly enjoy her new series about trolls… who are sweet and well-meaning.

Tony Noland of Landless. Tony’s another writer with a great sense of humor which shows up in most everything he does. He does have a dark side like the rest of us, and his fiction portrays that too from time to time. He’s one of the most versatile writers out there, gliding between genres with ease and grace. Oh, and he’s a master of limericks. Yes, limericks. He’s a talented man.

Eric J. Krause of Eric J. Krause’s Writing Spot. Eric has a huge imagination as well as a pretty sly sense of humor. He pulls you into his stories with excellent pace and tension, and all too often you find yourself suddenly laughing out loud when the end comes. He also reviews stories and has a weekly speculative fiction writing prompt on his blog. And he’s a teacher, so he has lots of inspiration for that big imagination. His blog is one of my favorite weekly stops.

Congratulations, you guys. You all have huge talent that I greatly respect. Each of you has earned this award and then some.

Now pass it on to all those other talented people I didn’t name. 🙂

Tagged:
Posted in: Writing