Versatile Blogger and one more One Lovely Blog Awards

Posted on July 11, 2010

8


A few weeks back, Valerie Valdes was gracious enough to bestow both of these awards upon me. Sadly, I got distracted and didn’t pass them on right away. Then today, Jess Rosen kindly presented me with the Versatile Blogger Award, so I’m going to pass on both before I wander off again. 🙂

Thank you both, Valerie and Jess, for thinking of me, and congratulations on receiving your own awards. You’re both very deserving and talented ladies.

First, here are the Versatile Blogger Award rules:

  1. Thank and link back to the person who gave you the award.
  2. Share seven things about yourself.
  3. Pass the award to fifteen bloggers you think deserve it.
  4. Contact each of the bloggers you chose.

And here are my seven things:

  1. I sang in school choruses and glee clubs from middle school through second year of college.
  2. In 7th and 8th grades I wrote horror stories all the time. Several were confiscated by my teacher at one point because my classmates were passing them around during class. (It was a private church school.)
  3. Wrote a horrid—and I do mean horrid—novelette when I was 14 featuring Prince Valiant and company. It has thankfully been consumed by the mists of time.
  4. On a road trip with friends to the Florida Panhandle once, my buddy tried to sell me for car parts. He was kidding, but the mechanic stopped to think about it. Moral: Never let your car break down in rural Alabama.
  5. A crow saved my life once on a twisty mountain road in Southern California. He landed on the road in front of me and I had to slow almost to a stop before he flew off. I continued around the bend and there was a pickup headed toward me in my lane, passing another car. If I’d been going regular speed…
  6. I grew up in a haunted house. Really.
  7. I’m a pretty fair pie-baker. My best recipe: buttermilk pie. Sounds awful, but it’s quite tasty.

Now for the One Lovely Blog Award rules:

  1. Accept the award, post it on your blog together with the name of the person who has granted the award and his or her blog link.
  2. Pass the award to 15 other blogs that you’ve newly discovered.
  3. Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.

So on with the awarding, which is the best part! I’ve listed these lovely people in no particular order.

  1. Rachel Blackbirdsong I only recently met Rachel on Twitter. Her writing is lovely and lyrical, and always a delight to read.
  2. Marisa Birns She’s an excellent writer with a fine sensibility for character and atmosphere. Her work is full of lovely, deep insight about any subject she presents.
  3. Laura Eno Another fine writer with a great sense of humor whether she’s writing fantasy, horror, or satire. I look forward to her work every week.
  4. Danielle LaPaglia Her work is often creepy and chilling, always excellent and powerful. She always packs a punch in her flash fiction.
  5. Joanie Rich She writes lovely fantasy and slice of life pieces, and contributes to #FridayFlash and #TuesdaySerial. Another writer I look forward to visiting each week.
  6. Icy Sedgwick She creates some of the most delicious atmospheres in her writing that I’ve read. She also contributes to #FridayFlash and #TuesdaySerial, and now #SpokenSunday with her lovely voice.
  7. Cecilia Dominic Creator of Bert the Catfish, who is now appearing in her new serial, The Agency. She’s another excellent writer with a great sense of humor, and her stories are addictive.
  8. Aidan Fritz He writes outstanding horror, science fiction, and fantasy, and he does all these genres quite well. Another writer with a great, often dark, sense of humor.
  9. Kevin J Mackey His writing is always poetic and lovely, and he’s a master of character study. His work always tugs at the heart.
  10. Cathy Olliffe One of my favorite writers to visit every week through #FridayFlash. Her sense of humor is brilliant. She also writes some of the most powerful, unflinching slice of life stories I’ve read.

Congratulations, everyone! Each of you has well earned it. You’re all wonderful.  I’m grateful to have met you all and feel privileged to read your work every week.

Now pass them on. 🙂

Tagged:
Posted in: Writing